top of page


TV Zone counts down the top-60 Doctor Who episodes since its revival in 2005, to mark the 60th Anniversary of the hit BBC sci-fi series this November. The ranking is based on TV Zone's Doctor Who World Cup which was polled in 2022.

Episode Details

Full title: Rose

Series: 1

Episode number: 1

Original air date: 26th March 2005

Writer: Russell T. Davies


Rose Tyler meets a mysterious stranger called the Doctor, and realises Earth is in danger.

Ranking so far

60. Spyfall (Parts 1 & 2)

59. Listen

58. A Christmas Carol

57. Into The Dalek

56. Nikola Tesla's Night Of Terror

55. The Doctor's Wife

54. The Witchfinders

53. Mummy On The Orient Express

52. Vampires Of Venice

51. The Christmas Invasion

50. The Zygon Invasion/ The Zygon Inversion

49. The Rings Of Akhaten

48. Fugitive Of The Judoon

47. The Timeless Children

46. It Takes You Away

45. The Impossible Astronaut/ Day Of The Moon

44. The Runaway Bride

43. Midnight

42. Village Of The Angels

41. Angels Take Manhattan

40. Father's Day

39. Eve Of The Daleks

38. The Sontaran Stratagem/ The Poison Sky

37. Time Of Angels/ Flesh And Stone

36. Deep Breath

35. Demons Of The Pubjab

34. The Unicorn And The Wasp

33. Rise Of The Cybermen/ Age Of Steel

32. The End Of Time

31. Face The Raven

30. The Haunting Of Villa Diodati

29. The Time Of The Doctor

28. The Girl Who Waited

27. Bad Wolf/ Parting Of The Ways

26. Amy's Choice

25. Heaven Sent

24. The Girl In The Fireplace

23. Utopia/ The Sound Of Drums/ Last Of The Timelords

22. Turn Left

21. Partners In Crime

20. The Fires Of Pompeii

19. The Pandorica Opens/ The Big Bang

18. The Woman Who Fell To Earth

17. The Waters Of Mars

16. A Good Man Goes To War

15. Army Of Ghosts/ Doomsday

14. Voyage Of The Damned

13. The Eleventh Hour

12. Rose

Doctor Who is available now on BBC iPlayer.


bottom of page