top of page


The BBC’s Green Sport Awards are back on Monday 2 October 2023, naming this year’s environmental champions from the world of sport.

After launching in 2022, the awards, which are in partnership with the Sport Positive Summit, celebrate individuals and organisations from around the world who are actively contributing to a more sustainable future through their sporting profile.

Qasa Alom is presenting the programme, which audiences will be able to tune in to from 6am on Monday 2 October via BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport website.

This year’s categories are: Athlete of the Year, Young Athlete of the Year, Evergreen Athlete (lifetime achievement), Elite Organisation of the Year and Grassroots Organisation of the Year.

The nominees for the awards have been confirmed (see list below) and the winners of each category, including the Evergreen Award, will be announced and celebrated at a special evening event in London on the 2 October. In the audience at the BBC Radio Theatre will be some of the world’s leading experts in sport sustainability, including some of the sporting heroes who are advocating for a greener sector.

Athlete of the Year

  • Pat Cummins

  • Sofie Junge Pedersen

  • Jacquie Pierri

  • Sebastian Vettel

  • David Wheeler

Young Athlete of the Year

  • Alayna Burns

  • Ellen Donald

  • Innes FitzGerald

  • Anna Hursey

  • Belle Pellecchia

Elite Organisation of the Year

  • Forest Green Rovers Football Club

  • Formula E

  • Richmond Football Club

  • International Biathlon Union

  • ATP Tour

Grassroots Organisation of the Year

  • Pledgeball

  • Rhino Cup Champions League

  • Save the Waves Coalition

  • The Green Runners

  • Vermont Green FC

Barbara Slater, Director of BBC Sport says: “It’s fantastic to see so many amazing names on our Green Sport Powerlist for 2023. Not only have these athletes made an impact through their sport on the field, but they have challenged the status quo off the field. All of the nominees are leading the way in being more sustainable and environmentally aware and encouraging other to do the same. It’s going to be exciting to see who takes home the awards.”

Last year’s winners included American motorsport racing driver, Leilani Münter, who scooped up the Evergreen Athlete Award for her continued efforts raising awareness of environmental issues in the world of motorsports.

While David Pocock, former Australian professional rugby player won Athlete of the Year for his work on a number of environmental campaigns, including The Cool Down initiative - which resulted in more than 300 athletes writing an open letter to the Australian government encouraging bolder climate action.


bottom of page