top of page


The BBC will host two prime-time TV debates – the final head-to-head leaders’ debate before polling day, and a seven-party debate – and a Question Time leaders’ special, as part of its election campaign coverage on Network TV. There will be additional dedicated debates in Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales.

The debate line-up is:

Friday 7 June, London – Mishal Husain will host a debate between leading figures from the seven biggest political parties in Great Britain. This will be broadcast from 7.30pm-9pm.

Thursday 20 June, York – Fiona Bruce will host a Question Time Leaders’ Special with the leaders of the four biggest political parties in Great Britain, broadcast from 8pm-10pm.

Wednesday 26 June, Nottingham – Sophie Raworth will host a head-to-head debate between Rishi Sunak and Sir Keir Starmer. This is set to be the last TV debate of the election campaign, as people prepare to cast their votes the following week. It will be broadcast from 9pm-10pm.

Nick Robinson has invited each of the leaders of the seven biggest political parties in Great Britain to be interviewed for Panorama specials across the next four weeks.

All of the above programmes will be broadcast on BBC One, BBC News, and local radio across the country and will be available on BBC iPlayer. There will be full live online coverage.

Jonathan Munro, Deputy CEO of BBC News, says: “TV debates have become a key part of elections in the UK, giving voters the chance to hear leaders and senior politicians debate policies and ideas directly with each other, which rarely happens on the campaign trail.

“The BBC brings people together. Providing a shared space for people to debate and discuss is a vital part of our mission, so I’m delighted we’re holding this series of debates and election specials, hosted by such talented presenters.”

The BBC Election Debate

The seven-handed debate will take place in front of an audience which reflects the broad electoral map of Great Britain.

This audience will ask questions and the BBC will also ask members of the public to submit questions via the BBC website.

The seven parties taking part are the Conservative Party; the Labour Party; the Liberal Democrats; The Scottish National Party; Plaid Cymru; the Green Party; and Reform UK. Parties’ representatives will be announced in due course.

Question Time Leaders’ Special

Fiona Bruce will present a special two-hour programme in which leaders from the Conservative Party; the Labour Party; the Liberal Democrats and the Scottish National Party will answer questions from the studio audience for thirty minutes each.

The BBC Prime Ministerial Debate

The final debate will be a head-to-head between Prime Minister Rishi Sunak and Leader of the Opposition Sir Keir Starmer, in front of a studio audience.

More details will be announced in due course.


bottom of page