top of page

PREVIEW: Sports Personality Of The Year 2020, BBC

The ceremony will be broadcast live on Sunday 20th December on BBC One.

The contenders are (in alphabetical order):

  • Stuart Broad (Cricket)

  • Hollie Doyle (Horse Racing)

  • Tyson Fury (Boxing)

  • Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1)

  • Jordan Henderson (Football)

  • Ronnie O’Sullivan (Snooker)

The six sport stars will compete for the public vote on the night of the live show on the December 20 where newcomer Alex Scott will join the presenting line-up alongside Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan to look back on a truly unusual year of sport in front of a huge virtual audience and millions of BBC One viewers.

Alex Scott says: “I’m so excited to join the presenting team for BBC Sports Personality of the Year. Now more than ever it will be amazing to champion those who have stood out this year in their field, as well as highlighting the unsung heroes who have made a positive difference in 2020 despite how challenging the year has been for so many.”

This year BBC Sports Personality of the Year will not only celebrate the very best of elite sport this year but will also reflect how ordinary members of the public and Unsung Heroes all over the UK have used the power of sport to keep the nation going through challenging times.

Last year cricketer Ben Stokes took home the title of BBC Sports Personality of the Year and the much coveted trophy, with Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton coming in second and athlete Dina Asher Smith placing third.


bottom of page