top of page


Presented by Mishal Husain, the debate will be broadcast from 19:30-21:00 on Friday 7 June on BBC One and BBC News in the UK. It will also be on local radio across the country, available on BBC iPlayer and there will be full live online coverage.

As part of the BBC’s commitment to put voters first, the questions will be taken from the audience, and from questions sent in by the public. This is an opportunity for voters to directly question and challenge the politicians who want to form the next government.

The participants in the first of the BBC’s prime-time election debates – a seven-way debate between the biggest parties in Great Britain - are:

  1. Penny Mordaunt – Conservative Party

  2. Angela Rayner – Labour Party

  3. Daisy Cooper – Liberal Democrats

  4. Stephen Flynn - Scottish National Party

  5. Carla Denyer – Green Party

  6. Rhun ap Iorwerth – Plaid Cymru

  7. Nigel Farage – Reform UK

The format will see the seven politicians take their position at podiums on stage in front of a live audience which will reflect the broad electoral map of Great Britain. The audience has been recruited by the opinion research partner Savanta.

The debate will be moderated by Mishal Husain, who will invite members of the audience to ask the politicians questions. At the end of the debate each of the participants will be invited to give a 30-second closing statement. The order of the podiums and the closing statements will be determined by lots.

The debate aims to reflect the issues that matter most to the public, and give voters the chance to hear from a wide range of political parties during the election campaign period.

There will also be a head-to-head debate between Rishi Sunak and Keir Starmer on the 26 June.


bottom of page